TeamGNSW to lead National Gymsport Committees

Gymnastics NSW wishes to congratulate the following members of the NSW community that have been elected as Gymnastics Australia National Technical Directors for 2022-2024 cycle.

The role of the Gymsport Commissions (or Committees as we refer to them in NSW) is to oversee all technical aspects of the sport – from compulsory routines and event assistance, all the way to World Championship or Olympic selection.

Congratulations to the following:
  • Acrobatic Gymnastics – Amy Yeomans (re-elected)
  • Gymnastics for All – Justin Hayes (re-elected)
  • Men’s Artistic Gymnastics – Rohan Kennedy (re-elected)
  • Rhythmic Gymnastics – Katie Sigsworth (elected) 

The team at Gymnastics NSW wish to share their sincerest congratulations and thanks to outgoing National Technical Directors Pam Behan and Virginia Elliot for their outstanding work.

Pam held the role of National Aerobic Technical Director for over 6 years. Leading her sport with a contagious sense of fun, Pam directed a multi-state collaborative approach to aerobics. This positive change led to Australia’s first Aerobic Group at a World Championships and the largest team to represent Australia at the pinnacle event.

Virginia is hanging up her Rhythmic Commission hat after 11 years on the National Commission, 9 of those as Technical Director.

“[My proudest moments has been] working with the community to set realistic goals and constantly looking for ways to push beyond these gains to support athlete achievement and enjoyment of the sport at all levels - from the smallest country club to the largest high-performance centre. It's been a fantastic experience with many special memories,” reflected Ms Elliot.

With Technical Directors appointed, the final National roles will be announced in the coming weeks.

Elections for NSW Technical Committees will be occurring at Gymsport Annual General Meetings. You can find details in the GNSW latest news.